# College presents annual faculty and staff awards

The achievements and accomplishments of outstanding students and faculty were celebrated during the annual Honors Day program April 26. Those recognized were:

### **Teaching awards**

- 2018-19 General Board of Higher Education and Ministry Exemplary Teacher Award Dr. Chris Bellon
- 2018-19 Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award Dr. Anthony Wilson
- John R. Hines Jr. Undergraduate Research Faculty Award Dr. Nickie Cauthen

#### Art

- Needham Avery Art Award Jessica Morgan
- Jamie Bishop Award Jessica Yeskonis
- Josephine A. Case Scholarship Alexis Westrick
- William and Elezida Hope Art History Awards Celeste Crowe, Jonathan Slade, Sarah Brown, Ashleigh Hall
- Annie Moore Smith Award Celeste Crowe
- Lee Wilson Award in Photography Katelin Richardson
- Jean Young Award Kayla White

### **Biology**

- Shibley-Hicks Scholarship Gage Bailey, Shawn Bailey, Caleb Wesley Brown, Rebecca Brown, Brittain Crowe, Katarina Decastro, Jacob Harman, Austin McDade, Grace McIntosh, Trevor McLemore, Jessica Noles, Shelby Olney, Nicole Phillips and Lance Shealy
- Hurd Excellence in Biology Award Lexi Hall

### **Business and Nonprofit Studies**

- Georgia Society of CPAs Award for Outstanding Senior in Accountancy Jenna Eppes
- Zachary Taylor Jr. Awards for Outstanding Student in Business Melanie Green
- Jenny Hampton Award for Outstanding Student in Business Administration Alana King
- Outstanding Student in Nonprofit Leadership Sarah Gage
- ACBSP Leadership Award John "Jack" Henry McCormack

#### Chemistry

- 2019 CRC Press General Chemistry Award Trevor A. McLemore
- 2019 A.M. Hicks Award for highest achievement in Organic Chemistry Nicolette G. McIntosh

#### **Education**

- Drs. Sharon and Don Livingston Outstanding Early Childhood Junior Award Madison Elzey
- Ethyl Ault Service Award Madison Fountain
- Walter Malcolm Shackelford Award Hannah Farley

# **English**

Freshman Essay Award – Peyton Brinson and Nick Oakley

Murial B. Williams Award for Excellence in Literary Studies – Mimi Loftus

#### **Exercise Science**

- Outstanding Junior Award Matthew Fritts
- Outstanding Senior Award Carolyn Harkness

#### History

- Kate Howard Cross Scholarship Cary Burton
- Sue Kafrouni Phi Alpha Theta award John Mitchell Benton

#### Math

Most Outstanding First-Year Calculus Award – Austin Harper

#### **Nursing**

- Junior Clinical Award Nick Fink and Misselly Morales
- Junior Academic Award Kayla Murphy and Chloe Battle
- Meri Meriwether Norris Award Paula Tant

#### Music

- Ann Louise Kitchen Bryant Music Scholarship Tyra Crowe
- Bernard-Becker Music Scholarship Abigail Young
- Amy Johnson Smith Boozer Scholarship Carter White
- Herbert H. Cox Music Scholarship Caleb Brown
- Pauline Witherspoon Hutchison Music Scholarship Simmerly Hardage
- Daisey Shepherd Luckey Music Scholarship Ashley Stell
- Mattox-Zachry Music Scholarship Joely Peterman
- Felecia E. Maddox Music Scholarship Alaina Magee
- Hortense Hughes Moore Scholarship Lauren Collins
- Polly Smith Moore Music Scholarship Laine Fletcher and Nick Oakley
- Patricia Callaway Vocal Award Leigh Anne Hamlin
- Martha Estes Achievement Award Kelton Hunt and Jason Hernandez
- Emily and Bruce Herrington Music Award Kyle Hildebrand

### **Political Science**

- Dr. Tracy Lightcap Award Robert Allen and Brandon Collins
- Judge David Fowler Award (pre-law) Mimi Loftus and Seth Golden
- Pi Sigma Award Stephen Wagner

## **Psychological Science**

- Outstanding Achievement in Psychology Meagan Harrison
- Buford Jennette Johnson Psychology Research Award Hannah Kadel
- Psychology Teaching Award Hannah Kadel and Katie Farr

## **Religion and Philosophy**

- Jane Ellen Speers Scholarship Mary Elissa Chandler
- Jane Ellen Speers, Guptil, Mary Hunter Lindsey and Phillip and Leo Still scholarships Courtney Alex Smith
- Pike and Estelle Jones Culpepper scholarships India Gleason
- Louise McCook, C. Lavern Mobley and Blankenhorn scholarships Meghan Gross

## Sociology

- Outstanding Senior Award Michelle Pilgrim
- James Buchanan, Sr. Scholar Award Madison Murphy

## **Sustainability Award**

Alexis Simmons

#### **Theatre Arts**

- Maxie "Doc" Estes Scholarship Landon Bell
- Hearnburg Theatre Achievement Scholarship Abigail Young
- Mamie Lark Henry Scholarship Rachel Cartwright
- Kendall Eugene Morris Scholarship Devin Fourqurean
- Nell Tidwell Rollins Scholarship Cole Reihing
- Jane and Raymond Barber Theatre Scholarship Laine Fletcher

## **Tutoring Center**

Outstanding Tutor Award – Jacob Harman

### **Undergraduate Research**

- Basic Research Carson Powell
- Applied Research Seth Golden
- Religious, Historical and Literary Analysis Mimi Loftus
- Performance and Creative Projects Celeste Crowe

## **Writing Center**

- Outstanding New Peer Consultant Lilly DeGennaro
- Outstanding Overall Consultant Karen Loncke